Skip to content

Giving Free Legal Advice to Those Who Need It

April 27, 2010

As part of National Law Week, I had the opportunity to take part on Monday in Legal Advice Live! in a Free Library branch.   Essentially, Legal Advice Live! is an ask-a-lawyer event where attorneys provide free, in-person legal advice to local residents who come in seeking it.  Just in our neighborhood branch, our group of three attorneys handled no fewer than thirteen people seeking advice.

If someone ever needed convincing to do pro bono work, spend some time at one of these sessions.  We dealt with individuals (rather than corporations), most of whom were poor (and unable to afford big law firm rates), needing help on whether to file bankruptcy, how to enforce a will, evaluating whether a former lawyer’s bill was justified and even  how to approach pending criminal charges.  These issues are what “real people” face.   

We are all busy, but when you have a chance to give just a couple of hours to help others who greatly appreciate the assistance, try to do so.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Stacey permalink
    April 28, 2010 9:58 pm

    I was at your free legal advice and I would like to say thank you to those who participated. The lawyer I spoke with was very helpful. it never dawned on me how expensive lawyers are until I was forced to look for one. I was so happy when this event came up and I was able to get my questions answered. My problem is not solved but because of this event I now have a better understanding of what needs to be done to resolve my issue.

    Thank you

  2. July 15, 2010 8:54 am

    I was at your free legal advice and I would like to say thank you to those who participated. The lawyer I spoke with was very helpful. it never dawned on me how expensive lawyers are until I was forced to look for one. I was so happy when this event came up and I was able to get my questions answered. My problem is not solved but because of this event I now have a better understanding of what needs to be done to resolve my issue.
    thanks
    killing games

  3. June 2, 2011 2:50 pm

    I am sure you are great lawyers 🙂 Keep the good work going

Trackbacks

  1. Fl Refi Legal Q&As · FL REFI
  2. Malaysian(lawyers) do you offer free legal advice to the needy? | free-personal-injury-lawyer

Leave a Reply

