Skip to content

Dream Jobs

September 5, 2008

I recently spoke at a local elementary school and asked the students what they want to be when they grow up.  Not one student said that they want to be a lawyer.  I can’t remember when I decided to become a lawyer.  Probably in high school.  I asked other lawyers what they wanted to be when they were children and what they would be doing if they could do anything else now:  

 

  • Shortstop for a major league baseball team. Right now I would like to be an actor or owner of a great chain of restaurants.

 

  • I wanted to be a family lawyer and ended up in legal information services/legal publishing.  Otherwise, I would do  in healthcare, possibly be a pharmacist. The shortage of healthcare workers has created a great environment for certain fields in the industry.

 

  • …I don’t remember

 

  • Forensic examiner, virologist, attorney. That’s been about it. Right now, if I could hold any job, it would be a judge. Second choice: Assistant United States Attorney, the job I’m currently doing.

 

  • I wanted to be a lawyer and an archaeologist. If I could be anything, I’d be independently wealthy!

 

  • I used to want to be a lawyer when I was a kid, but my Dad was a lawyer so I don’t know if that counts. After college, I was deciding between visual artist, Rabbi, teacher or lawyer. In my own way, I tried all of them before deciding on law. If I could be anything, I’d probably like to be a rock star, but I have no talent in that area. I wouldn’t mind being a fiction writer and visual artist either.

Please share what you wanted to be and what you would do if you could be anything now.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. September 5, 2008 12:47 pm

    Most of us who are still in law school are dreaming about having a job at all. Homework isn’t fun.

    Anybody who wants to be writer, and doesn’t have enough motivation to go get a blog and start writing, doesn’t really want to be a writer. That person just wants to be famous.

  2. Jean permalink
    September 5, 2008 1:47 pm

    Yeah, I got sucked into the law by movies like To Kill a Mockingbird and Perry Mason, wanted to help people. Unfortunately, student loans kinda prohibited me from taking a job that helps people (at least until I pay them off). If I could go back, I think I would have gone into healthcare or teaching. Teaching may still be a possibility, again when those pesky loans are paid off.

  3. September 9, 2008 1:06 pm

    Unfortunately, law as a career does not always resonate positively. Children, more often than not talk about what they want to be when they grow up in idealistic terms. Their choices usually resonate from what they perceive would please those around them. They really don’t know what they want to do even if they answer with strong conviction.

Leave a Reply

