Skip to content

Still the Boy’s Club?

June 2, 2008
by

Sometimes parts of the legal profession and law school are sort of like Fight Club and we all know the first rule of Fight Club. We have written about the gender gap when it comes to pay and promotion, but we have not addressed the flat out objectification of women attorneys.

During my first year of law school one of my friends – who was and still is one of the “hottest” women from our class – walked by a bunch of guys from our section who were loudly ranking the looks of women from our section as we walked by them. Of course an uproar ensued. Some women were upset that they weren’t ranked high, some were upset that we were being ranked at all, and some were upset that others were flattered that the guys found them “hot.”  Of course, it blew over and we hardly talk about it any more.

Apparently, this was not an isolated incident.  HotAttorney, a website that posts photos of women attorneys from around the country daily and then picks a “hottie of the day”, was just brought to my attention. The site explains that it is “for fun and flattery.”  Hmmm….I still don’t know what to think.  I consulted friends.  One said that it was “tacky, immature and unprofessional.”  Another was enraged that minorities are not included.  Yet, another wants me to submit her picture.

I am not naive enough to think that there will never be a gender gap.  But, is it true that no matter how hard women attorneys work, we will still just be “the girls”?

PS ~ Why doesn’t the site include any men?

UPDATE: According to the National Law Journal, the HotAttorney website was taken down in early July, 2008:

“Following attention the site received from the law gossip blog Above The Law Monday and from at least one reporter inquiring about its content, HotAttorney.com closed the site. ‘On our own initiative, we decided to take the site down earlier today,’ said an unidentified source responding to an e-mail requesting an interview.”

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Hot for Lawyer permalink
    June 2, 2008 1:33 pm

    Being viewed as a piece of ass is not professionally gratifying when you’re year end review comes around or when that next big case comes in the door and Joe Associate gets picked over Jane because he has a penis. Neither did it lift my spirits when my partner informed me in my review that I was hot, and that was an asset because clients like good looking women. I mean, my hourly rate isn’t bad, but it’s not THAT high!

    I know it will never go away (so long as I remain attractive), so I use it to my advantage. If I’m gonna be subjected to humiliation and ridicule, I might as well use what I got to my advantage. Men are weak – use it against them. It almost always works.

  2. June 2, 2008 2:43 pm

    This message is for “Hot for Lawyer”: You were so righteous in the beginning of your post about gender disparity in the workplace – then you shot yourself in the foot in the end with your disparaging remarks about men. How well is being a hypocrite going to work for you when gravity has gotten the best of you?

    To the original poster: Most men are attracted to women, and most women are attracted to men. They are always going to rate how each other looks, and they’re going to discuss it among themselves. However, it should be done tastefully, and not in a way that leaves the less attractive ones feeling left out.

  3. Jack permalink
    June 18, 2008 5:49 pm

    Um…women in society are mainly judged on youth and beauty. Men are judged on accomplishments mainly. This has always been the case, and will always be the case. Women, like it or not, are the sex objects in our society, and while they like to complain about it, they also take full advantage of it (like the commenting bitch (Hot for Lawyer). Why are there no men on that site? Well, probably because men are running the damn site. Duh.

Leave a Reply

