Skip to content

The Problem of Crime in the City

February 29, 2008

Like many other young Philadelphia lawyers, I am fortunate enough to live in Center City, where I have resided for over seven years.  I walk about ten minutes to work, and then I make the same walk home in the nighttime.  Oftentimes, I go out to restaurants and bars in the area before walking home.  And I must say (knock on wood), I’ve been fortunate not to fall victim to a crime. 

It’s a great city in which we live and work in, particularly the Center City and Rittenhouse neighborhood.  Sometimes, though, we forget that we, in fact, do still live in a city, and we need to be wary.  Crime isn’t just limited to homicides in North Philadelphia.  You can check the local news and see stories of women being assaulted during the early evening hours just off South Street and random attacks in front of college fraternity houses.

I had the opportunity to see District Attorney Lynne Abraham speak the other day, and she noted that people should watch themselves as there are a lot of people out there who could commit random crimes, from muggings to assaults.  When passing homeless people looking for change on the street, she noted that we should just say sorry although not in a rude way. 

It’s sound advice.  We can’t stop all crimes from happening, but we can try to be aware of our surroundings to lessen the chances of falling victim to them.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    March 4, 2008 4:32 pm

    Lynne Abraham is a joke. She turns a blind-eye to all the City Hall corruption and police “misconduct”, which means the US Attorney has to handle it. Why she keeps getting re-elected is beyond me. Sadly, the same problem is occurring in Trenton, NJ with the State Attorney General Office for the past couple of administrations.

  2. June 11, 2008 6:35 pm

    Lynne abraham is awesome.She always takes her opponents and her job seriously. But, on being asked on her being the ‘most influential D.A. in the state,’ she says, “…I’m here to do a job, I love what I do, I work hard, I love this city, I want to serve again, and I’ll leave it to history to decide who was the most influential. When I’m dead and buried it won’t make a dime’s worth of difference.”

  3. June 11, 2008 6:43 pm

    I agree fully

Leave a Reply

