Skip to content

Insomnia

November 8, 2007

It was one of those nights. I just couldn’t sleep. Perhaps it was the butterscotch ice-cream coke float I had at midnight. Perhaps it was the excitement of working on different projects at my new job. Perhaps it was just stress. But I am sure I was not alone in not being able to fall asleep. Most adults have experienced insomnia or sleeplessness at one time or another in their lives. According to WebMD, an estimated 30-50% of the general population are affected by insomnia, and 10% have chronic insomnia. Apparently, stress commonly triggers short-term or acute insomnia. I also read recently that in a study of more than 100 occupations, lawyers had one of the highest rates of depression and reported stress. A few months ago, I wrote a blog about lawyers and drinking. I am almost tempted to write about lawyers and insomnia this time. But, nah…. I’m too wired to think straight. It’s a good thing I finished my brief yesterday!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 25, 2008 5:35 am

    yeah ive found that when i’ve worked late for a few nights in a row, i would find it really difficult to wind down to sleep properly – ie my mind would still be buzzing from my work … after a few nights of not sleeping i’d be completely delirious

    ive been forcing myself to get into the habit of doing something really mind numbing – ie reading a few pages of a book, sitting in front of the tv etc so that my body gets a chance to relax before i go to bed…it helps.

    otherwise i think some herbal tea and lavender room spray helps…

  2. January 25, 2008 2:31 pm

    Or Tylenol P.M. 😉

Leave a Reply

