Skip to content

There is no Men’s Wearhouse for Women

November 5, 2007

Is it just me, or is it difficult for women to assemble a whole wardrobe of work clothing that is actually nice…without spending an arm and a leg?  Men can easily put together a closet full of suits, shirts, ties and shoes that are exemplary. There are stores that cater to men looking to purchase suits in all price ranges.  And most of the outfits look descent. Women’s clothing is another story entirely…

I mostly shop at Ann Taylor for work clothes.  It’s affordable and looks pretty good.  I pick up items here and there from other stores, but there are few options that don’t make me look like an 85 year old.  Even stores that sell expensive suits don’t necessarily cater to young women attorneys in the way the suits are cut and fit (no offense to women who like the “boyfriend jacket” but I don’t need to look any more like a linebacker than I already do).

Shoes are easier to come by, but aren’t necessarily “professional.”  One judge told me that he didn’t understand the shoes women attorneys are wearing to court these days.  He also thought that gold shoes were not appropriate to wear with a suit (I wasn’t wearing them, but at least have an appreciation for them).  Obviously he hasn’t tried to find a pair of basic black pumps that don’t make you want to cry when running to and from court on a daily basis recently.

In my opinion, it’s difficult to find clothing that is reasonably affordable that fits correctly.  And it’s even more difficult to find clothing that you like.  So when you see a woman in a suit that looks ok, but not great, just remember that it was probably the best of the 25 suits that she tried on the day she went shopping. 

18 Comments leave one →
  1. Aneesah permalink
    November 5, 2007 10:15 pm

    Ditto! I could not have written it better myself. I think clothing makers are still operating under the assumption that women don’t wear professional clothing and the “few” that do are not into fashion or comfort? :-/

    • Katherine permalink
      April 16, 2015 5:03 am

      I just bought a fabulous suit at MENS WAREHOUSE. No, I am not a man, nor am I a lesbian. I am a Vice President of a bank, and have a difficult time finding well tailored quality women’s suits. Well, I’ve found the answer, gorgeous suits, tailoring to fit me, and quality! I will be buying there often!

  2. Fern permalink
    November 5, 2007 11:10 pm

    I don’t really have a problem in the clothes department, as I’ve never really tried (or want to try) to buy all my clothes at once. That being said, I completely agree with you on the shoes front. Every black pump I has one or more of the following fatal flaws: (1) 4 inch stilleto heels, (2) open toe, or (3) wicked witch of the west pointy toes. Where can one go to buy sensible, professional pumps that won’t mutilate your feet?

  3. Patty Walsh permalink
    November 6, 2007 3:28 pm

    I agree about the lack of clothing stores. For those of us who have a limited clothing budget, its almost impossible to find affordable, professional clothes that fit. I have the additional problem of being tall and of medium build. The clothing makers assume everyone who is tall is either stick thin or “plus” size. Its also difficult to find appropriate shoes in large sizes that dont cost a small fortune, let alone comfortable, appropriate work shoes.

  4. November 6, 2007 3:35 pm

    I also like Ann Taylor because it has decent looking suits at reasonable prices. For “expensive” suits that cater to younger women, I like shopping at BCBG Max Azaria. I have found suits there on sale (50 percent off at the end of the season). I also like Club Monoco’s skirts and shirts for work. It’s too bad that it really is very hard to look really sharp, sophisticated, and young without spending a ton of money.

  5. Dave Koller permalink
    November 15, 2007 2:48 pm

    my question for men is pleats or flat fronts on a nice professional pair of business slacks.

  6. November 15, 2007 3:59 pm

    flat fronts. totally.

  7. February 24, 2008 1:21 am

    And then there was the answer: a Men’s Wearhouse for women!!!
    It really does exist!

    http://www.thesuitcloset.com in Los Angeles, CA

    Do not currently sell online but will very soon. They do still do personalized clienteling for your convenience, shipping to your location. Hope this helps!

  8. July 23, 2009 6:03 am

    I believe that you have a lot more choices by going online to find what you need or want in style and size , give it a go its fun.

  9. November 9, 2010 2:13 pm

    Forever21 might be the best bet for any woman. They’ve got extremely cheap clothing but the quality and style is unbeatable. JC Penney has some reasonably cute clothing, top quality for low prices. I check my local craiglist for good deals at the same time. I have a lot of clothes from major brands that I’ve gotten for less than half of their original price from Craiglist and eBay.

  10. November 22, 2010 8:39 am

    women loves deep colors so i think that the best womans clothing should have bright and beautiful colors -.~

  11. March 9, 2011 12:56 pm

    I’m usually on the lookout for quite attractive clubbing dress that can be utilized for heading clubbing. Soon after all, there’s practically nothing worse than finding a dress you appreciate and then acquiring to assume I should of bought it just before!

  12. May 16, 2013 10:53 am

    I usually do not write many comments, but i did a few searching
    and wound up here There is no Mens Wearhouse for Women | PhiLAWdelphia.
    And I do have 2 questions for you if you usually do not mind.

    Could it be simply me or does it give the impression like some
    of the comments look like they are coming from brain dead people?
    😛 And, if you are writing on additional social sites,
    I would like to keep up with everything fresh you have to post.

    Would you list of every one of all your communal pages like your linkedin profile, Facebook
    page or twitter feed?

  13. September 19, 2013 4:25 am

    Hello! This iss kind of off topic but I need some advice rom an established blog.
    Is iit very difficult to set up yur ownn blog?I’m not very techincal
    but I can figure things out pretty quick.
    I’m thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to start.
    Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Thank you

  14. September 20, 2013 2:52 am

    I wwas suggested this blog by my cousin. I’m not sure whether this post is written by him
    as no one else know such detailed about my trouble.
    You’re wonderful! Thanks!

  15. January 4, 2014 11:31 pm

    Greetings! I’ve been following your web site for a long time now and finally got the courage to go
    ahead and give you a shout out from Atascocita Tx! Just wanted to tell you keep up the great job!

  16. January 5, 2014 4:51 pm

    I like what you guys are up too. This sort of clever work and coverage!
    Keep up the fantastic works guys I’ve you guys to my own blogroll.

Trackbacks

  1. Dressing up the Workplace « PhiLAWdelphia

Leave a Reply

