Skip to content

A Lawyer’s Place on MySpace?

October 15, 2007

I am a 33-year-old attorney who has been practicing law for over eight years. I have been out of college for over eleven years. By most objective standards, I am considered a “grown-up” adult. Yet, I have a MySpace page. Heck, I even have a Facebook account. And I’m certainly not the only lawyer who is on these sites (fellow PhiLAWdelphia bloggers may be on them as well, but I’m certainly not going to “out” anybody).

Friends who are more traditional grown-ups question me on why I am involved with these online social networking websites. It’s certainly a fair question. The generalized view about these sites is that they are only for college students or those looking to date someone they meet through the sites. I don’t fall in either category. And I seriously doubt that there has ever been a recorded event in history of a lawyer securing any new clients through having a presence on MySpace.

So do lawyers, particularly those in their thirties, have any business on MySpace or Facebook? I think the best justification is that these sites help us stay connected to our friends, laymen and lawyers alike, who use them. That reason certainly is valid enough. Additionally, while our jobs take up so much of our time and energy, we really can’t or shouldn’t just focus on our jobs twenty-four hours a day. It’s nice to have a little entertainment and involvement on a website for fun. So while I don’t necessarily think that everyone should rush to sign up on these social networking sites, lawyers already on them or who are thinking of joining them shouldn’t feel out of place. Now excuse me, while I check on the status updates of my Facebook friends. . .

Submitted by John Encarnacion

One Comment leave one →
  1. Abbie permalink
    October 16, 2007 2:22 am

    Here is an article on the use of MySpace and Facebook by law firms to gather information on their own clients and impeachment information (among other information) on opposing parties.

Leave a Reply

