Skip to content

Lawyer Ranking Site Rankling To Some

July 6, 2007

Avvo Corp., launched a website on June 5, 2007, that professedly “rates and profiles every lawyer so you can choose the right lawyer”.  Avvo’s website has caused quite a stir in the blogosphere and the company is already facing a class action lawsuit filed by lawyers rankled by the rankings. 

What is the big fuss?  Some are concerned that the ratings are arbitrary and are not representative of a lawyer’s legal experience, skills, or reputation.  Testing has also revealed some strange flaws in the new system:  One article states:

“In tests, however, Avvo’s pages seemed to be riddled with bizarre errors, profiles of attorneys who have been dead for more than a century and inexplicable scores in which some felons received better ratings than law school deans and internationally renowned litigators.”

I “Avvoed” myself and found that I have a “no concern” rating.  I did not see a 1 – 10 rating for myself so I took a look at a few other attorneys:  Alan Nochumson had a 6.5/10 score.  Michael Hayes had a 6.0/10 score.  What these scores mean?  I’m not quite sure.    I “Avvoed” Abe Lincoln–and he definitely has a profile, though its looks suspiciously like a joke.

 Avvo is for lawyers what Expedia and Travelocity are for hotels:  rankings and an opportunity for customer commentary.  Is this a bad idea?  I’m not sure how many clients will be looking to Avvo for advice on which lawyer to hire–and I don’t know how many people will really take this site seriously, at least not in its early stages.  But I definitely find the concept interesting–and actually a little fun.  Avvo seems to have some aspects that are similar to LinkedIn, in that attorneys can manage their own profile and request peer endorsements and client ratings.  I am going to claim my profile and add some more information to see what happens to my lawyer rating.    If anything happens, I will let you know.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Dave Alders permalink
    July 6, 2007 8:02 pm

    A few people at our firm created a profile on a site called http://www.congoo.com – is this the same as linkedin and facebook?

  2. jocelyn g permalink
    July 9, 2007 1:10 pm

    This is the first time I have heard mention of Congoo. Tell me your firm–I’d like to check out your profile. –J

  3. Dave Koller permalink
    July 9, 2007 1:48 pm

    unless there is nasty and wrong information being provided on attorneys, a class action lawsuit seems a little premature when the site has only been around for a month. what kind of stuff are they suing about – its gotta be something more than a random rating they are unhappy with and havent had an opportunity to skew, which is completely subjective anyway? if it isnt anything more, those lawyers need to chill a bit. but thanks for the info on this site, never heard of it.

Trackbacks

  1. all ps2 games
  2. spyware detect
  3. psp game download

Leave a Reply

