Skip to content

I am lawyer, hear me roar

June 15, 2007

I was a competetive competitive swimmer from age 8 through college.  Swimming was everything to me.  It defined me–it was my identity.  I devoted every ounce of my energy, day in and day out, to being the fastest swimmer I could be.

I don’t swim six hours a day anymore.  I have traded my racing suit for a business suit.   I now devote all my time and energy to being a lawyer.   But I have not laid aside my competetive competitive nature.   I am hungry and driven to be the best lawyer I can be.   My profession has become my new identity–the way I see myself.  And I don’t mind one bit.  In fact, I have embraced it. 

I guess my point is that this is not just a job.  Being a lawyer is an integral part of who I am.   I never really thought it would be like this.  I just thought a job was a job. 

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Jennifer Larsen permalink
    June 21, 2007 8:48 pm

    I thought lawyers could spell “competitive” correctly…

    Just joking! But you may want to change it 🙂

  2. jocelyn g permalink
    June 22, 2007 7:19 pm

    Thank you so much for catching my mistake.

  3. jocelyn g permalink
    June 22, 2007 7:19 pm

    Maybe i should make spelling mistakes more often–at least i got a comment.

Leave a Reply

