Skip to content

Pay and the Gender Gap

April 23, 2007

On payday, it’s still a man’s world 

Study: Females earn 80 percent of what men earn one year after graduating from college; falls to 69 percent 10 years later.

That is particularly interesting in light of articles like this:

The New Gender Gap           

From kindergarten to grad school, boys are becoming the second sex

8 Comments leave one →
  1. jocelyn g permalink
    April 24, 2007 7:54 pm

    I think I saw an article about this in today’s Metro. From my own (un scientific) empiracal study, I am, sadly, not surprised by the disparity. Just because I am not surprised does not mean I am not angry.

  2. Abbie permalink
    April 24, 2007 10:59 pm

    I agree with you – I’m not surprised, but it still sucks. I wonder what the gender gap in pay is specifically in the legal profession (and in Philadelphia for that matter).

    I found some articles about the gender gap for making partner, but not about pay.

    I also found an article about how men out number women as Supreme Court clerks.

  3. April 25, 2007 11:42 am

    Isn’t there an influence from the fact that some women, in order to have children, leave the work force for various periods of time?

  4. jocelyn g permalink
    April 25, 2007 1:56 pm

    Oh, god. The ” its biological” viewpoint/excuse. The pay disparity occurs well before a woman has children–it happens as soon as she is in the work force. And even if a woman does take some time off to go to the hospital to bear a child–or takes six months leave, or a year, or whatever–does not mean that she should be paid less than a man. Arguably, if she takes a year off, she is a year behind her class in pay grade–but the disparity ends up being much greater than that.

  5. April 26, 2007 7:42 pm

    there’s really no need to take that disparaging tone right from the first word…

    Is it possible those hiring have to take into account the possibility that they will loose a certain amount of productivity at some point in the future?

  6. jocelyn g permalink
    April 27, 2007 6:53 pm

    I was merely venting my frustration–I did not mean to disparage you. But I have heard this point many times and it irks me to the very depths of my being.

    Is it possible that not all women have babies?

    Is it possible that we still live in a sexist society?

    Is it possible that women have to 20% harder than men to make 20% less–in the first year out of school!!!!??

    TGIF. I need a drink, badly.

  7. jocelyn g permalink
    April 27, 2007 6:56 pm

    I left out a word, but apparently we are not allowed to edit our comments on this blog.

    I meant to say–work 20% harder.

Trackbacks

  1. What Billables? « PhiLAWdelphia

Leave a Reply

