Skip to content

Why I Blog

April 16, 2007

Recently I’ve been asked – several times – why we created this blog.  I was first approached about writing for the YLD blog about a year ago.  I was initially apprehensive. At the time I was working at a public interest organization and thought that I wouldn’t have anything to say that others would want to read.  I got on board when the Chair at the time explained that his vision of the blog was to directly engage young attorneys in the Philadelphia legal community in an innovative way.

That’s what we try to do – write about issues that are both popular and unpopular topics of conversation in an attempt to reach different segments of our membership on all levels of their lives – both personal and professional.  This may include the job search, MySpace, dating, associate pay, questions on race and the profession or finding the best sandwiches in town.

I can’t speak for the other bloggers, but I can give you some of the reasons why I blog. I blog because:

  • I feel strongly that there is more to being a young lawyer in Philadelphia than just going to work and going home.
  • I want to encourage others to get involved.
  • I have conversations with other young lawyers all the time about topics that you never read about in legal publications. You can already read the Legal and find out who won the biggest award of the week and who transferred to what firm.
  • You elected me to the Executive Committee and I want to hear what issues are important to you, what topics you are interested in and what you think our committee can do to better serve the membership.

My fellow bloggers and I are people.  We write about topics that we are interested in and usually happen to be relevant to our lives at the time we are writing.  This blog has become part of my weekly routine and it is something that I take seriously and personally and I also enjoy.  We welcome all comments and if you want to stay anonymous, you can.

If there is something that you would like us to blog about – in the legal community or beyond, please let us know.  Thanks for reading.

One Comment leave one →
  1. girlygirl34 permalink
    April 17, 2007 12:30 pm

    I agree with your reasons for writing. In addition, I find writing about certain topics to be cathartic. Also, as I set aside time to write a little at the end of each day, I sometimes find myself looking forward to writing especially if I’ve had a hard day at work. It helps me with deal with stress in a creative way.

Leave a Reply

