Skip to content

Jobby Job (or Strict Scrutiny)

April 10, 2007

Looking for a new job is one of the most unpleasant experiences I have ever had.   I find the whole process distasteful.  How does one capture a potential employer’s attention in a one page cover letter?  Does my transcript represent my abilities as a lawyer?  Can I please make my resume two pages long?  Am I good enough, am I smart enough…… Do people like me?? 

I had always hoped my potential employer would seek me out instead of the other way around. 

Rejection letters are the worst.  I just got a rejection letter from a job I didn’t even apply for.  I felt like writing back to them to let them know that I didn’t want their stinkin’ job in the first place.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 10, 2007 4:09 pm

    Hey you guys…I wrote a self-deprecating article for my law school’s newspaper a few years ago about the piles of rejection letters I’ve received. Check it out:

    Article

  2. jocelyn g permalink
    April 10, 2007 6:49 pm

    Thanks, Steve! Great article. maybe we should enlist you as a writer for the blog.

  3. April 11, 2007 1:34 am

    Saaaaaaweet! I like to write (I am nerdy like that!), so I’d totally be down for helping ya’ll out whenever you need it. Just let me know!

Trackbacks

  1. Why I Blog « PhiLAWdelphia

Leave a Reply

