Skip to content

Business Cards Are My Baseball Cards

April 3, 2007

Great networking advice, Abbie!

I know I have said this before, but Abbie’s piece got me going.   I love meeting new people.  It gives me a rush.  I love learning about where people come from, how they got where they are, what kind of work they do, where they want to go.  Some of my favorites recently have been the “young friends” events:  Young Friends of the Free Library, Young Friends of the Art Museum, Young Friends of the Philly Orchestra…etc.

And I also love figuring out how me and my new friend are connected.  Its my new game.  How many people do we have in common?  Philly is a small town, so you are bound to have at least one person in common.  For those of you stuck in the oficina due to billable hours, there are of course various online networking outlets (not nearly as fun as my game) such as friendster, myspace, and LinkedIn.   LinkedIn is a great professional resource.

 Michael Adler is a LinkedIn guru.  Check him out.  (I had to give you a shout out since you said you read this)

I am not so good at the LinkedIn–I only have 13 connections.  =( 

 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. Michael A. permalink
    April 3, 2007 6:39 pm

    Thanks for the shout out… 🙂

  2. jocelyn g permalink
    April 3, 2007 7:38 pm

    There will be more to come.

    And I just got a new connection on LinkedIn–I am so excited. Grand total—-14.

  3. April 9, 2007 8:19 pm

    Hey gang, I don’t work in Philly (I am clerking for a judge in NJ), and I just found your lil Web blog thingie here. It’s rather neat. I hope to see ya’ll out at an event soon!

    I am not on LinkedIn, but I am on MySpace, so hit me up on there!

  4. jocelyn g permalink
    April 10, 2007 2:54 pm

    Steve–

    What is the link for your myspace profile?

  5. jocelyn g permalink
    April 10, 2007 2:57 pm

    Myspace is pretty cool. Since I set my profile up I have been getting all kinds of e-mails from old friends.

    I’m so low tech, though–Haven’t quite figured everything out yet.

  6. April 10, 2007 3:52 pm

    Hey what’s uppppppppppp…

    …my MySpace link is

    http://www.MySpace.com/Vyper80

    Where’s your page at?

  7. jocelyn g permalink
    April 10, 2007 6:56 pm

    Hey, you wore the same hat I did at law school graduation.

    http://www.myspace.com/jgabrynowiczhill

  8. June 16, 2007 6:20 pm

    Hey, Jocelyn,

    I saw this link on LinkedIn and thought you and Mike Adler and some others might find it interesting:

    http://webworkerdaily.com/2007/06/15/20-ways-to-use-linkedin-productively/

  9. jocelyn g permalink
    June 22, 2007 7:22 pm

    Thanks, Lady! Very cool link.

Leave a Reply

