Skip to content

Don’t Forget About Non-Lawyers

April 2, 2007

Last Thursday I went to a Big 10 Alumni happy hour in Manayunk.  About a month ago, Jocelyn had reminded me that it is important – and fun – to network with people outside of my immediate circle of friends and associates.  It was a lot of fun to meet new people, especially “non-lawyers.”

Between campaigning during the election for the YLD Executive Committee, trying to find a new legal job and attending bar association events, I have recently networked in the legal profession a lot.  At events and happy hours geared toward lawyers, I have met a lot of cool people, but I haven’t met many people who aren’t lawyers. 

 These were my observations of the Big 10 Alumni happy hour:

  • There are three main reasons that people go to events:
    1. to meet new friends
    2. to meet a significant other
    3. to get business/find a new job
  • For every nice person you meet, you will likely meet a crazy person.
  • Talking to people who work in other professions/trades puts lawyer life into perspective.
  • When your alma mater’s basketball team screws up everyone’s bracket, it’s bad.

Jocelyn reminded me and now I am reminding you – get out there and meet some new and interesting people.  It may or may not change your life, but it will definitely make it more interesting to talk about something other than practice.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lily permalink
    April 2, 2007 4:41 pm

    Good blog. This is why I regularly hang out with doctors. I want to marry one, they can refer business and you never know when you will get sick and need a good physician. 🙂

Trackbacks

  1. PhiLAWdelphia Year in Review « PhiLAWdelphia

Leave a Reply

