Skip to content

Choices: You Are What You Choose

March 7, 2007

On Thursday, March 29, 2007, Phyllis Sisenwine, the Lawyer’s Coach, will be presenting a very high energy, motivational program called Choices: You Are What You Choose at the Philadelphia Bar Association from 12 noon to 1 p.m.

So, it got me thinking….  Are we what we choose?

I guess I agree with Phyllis to a large extent.  Making conscious choices gives you the freedom to choose your own way, instead of simply reacting to situations.  I read an article about choices a while ago.  According to the article, the following five steps are necessary to make better choices in life:

1.  Make peace with your past choices

2.  Look for a pattern

3.  Decide to make better choices

4.  Start making better choices

5. Ask for help

It’s true.  If you’ve made bad choices in the past, there’s no use dwelling on them and regretting these bad choices.  Why just complain?  Make peace with these choices.  Either accept them and make sure that you don’t make the same mistakes again – or change what you can and make better choices next time.

I am hoping that Phyllis will tell us how to make better choices.  I have a feeling that she will say something like resolving to make better choices is the first step towards making better choices.  I think she’ll tell us that we can choose to make positive changes in our lives by making good choices and goals.

I will have more to say about CHOICES after I attend her seminar on March 29, 2007.  If you want to attend the program, please go to http://www.philabar.org to register.  See you there, and remember, in the end, we don’t choose the life we live.  WE LIVE THE CHOICES WE MAKE.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Rick Furia permalink
    March 8, 2007 8:26 pm

    I would add another rule to becoming “…what you choose,” and that is: “Never sell yourself short,” or to put it another way, “Believe in yourself and in your own ability to succeed in whatever you choose to do.”

    We can only become as successful as our goals dictate. In that regard, to quote a great motivational speaker and writer,

    WE ARE WHAT WE THINK ABOUT.

  2. girlygirl34 permalink
    March 8, 2007 8:39 pm

    Ah, the power of positive thinking…..

    I’m curious as to who said, “We are what we think about.” When I googled it, I came back with Barbara K. Giamanco, CEO and founder of consulting service focused on personal and professional development.

  3. March 8, 2007 10:10 pm

    Interesting that you mention, “The Power of Positive Thinking”, a book written by Norman Vincent Peale in 1952, which has sold over 2.5 million copies and is now in its umpteenth printing.
    The speaker/author I quoted was a disciple of Peale.
    I read Peale’s book 3 months after my graduation from law school, many years ago. My father who had been a lawyer, my advisor, my mentor had died the month before. I was his executor. I also had a distraught mother who had also been his secretary for 30 years, a wife, a 2 year old daughter, a mortgage and a tremendous fear of failure.
    Emotionally, I was a wreck and was dealing with some very difficult personal choices and crises, as well.
    Peale’s book rescued me. I started reading it again, last night after reading your blog, and it’s still as valid today, as it was when first published over 50 years ago.
    So, tell me, did you figure out the name of the Peale disciple who authored the quote I posted?

  4. girlygirl34 permalink
    March 9, 2007 3:09 pm

    Earl Nightingale! His book talks about changing things you can control, right? I will check it out. Or maybe I should check out Peale’s book that you mentioned. I am dealing with some difficult personal choices myself, and maybe it’ll help me. Thanks for sharing.

  5. March 9, 2007 5:00 pm

    Exactement!!!!

    Norman Vincent Peale’s seminal book is a wonderful and helpful read; whereas, Earl Nightingale can be heard on many motivational tapes expanding on Peale’s message. I believe the latter “guru’s” material is still published by Nightingale-Conant Books and Tapes, which has also recorded some other fabulous modern-day motivational speakers. The funny thing is, the message never gets old:
    Positive Thinking Empowers!

  6. girlygirl34 permalink
    March 9, 2007 7:33 pm

    Yes, but I still believe only to an EXTENT that “you are what you choose” and “we are what we think about.” It applies to me and you and everyone else who are fortunate enough to have been born into the families that we were born into. What if you were born into a single mother on welfare in North Philly and you just have to do what you can do to stay alive and survive in this city?

Leave a Reply

