Skip to content

Why I Love Law School…And you should too.

September 5, 2007

The first year they scare you to death…
The second year they work you to death…
The third year they bore you to death…

I spent four wonderful years at a small liberal arts college as an English and Philosophy major. I met some brilliant professors and learned a lot about the human experience. It was great to study the “good life,” or how to find metric patterns in a poem.

Law school however was a whole different world. Class discussions about John Donne became interrogations on assumption of the risk. Names like Heidegger, Shakespeare, and Emerson were replaced by Cardozo, Traynor, and Brennan.

Despite my culture shock, I realized how useful those dense opinions could be. I was studying harder than ever before. At first I just thought I was starting to grow up. I quickly realized that maturity was only a small part of the transformation, and I took the study of law more seriously because real lives were directly affected by the decisions I read. Even those darkly humorous torts cases where someone suffers through some unfortunate series of events were taking hold.

I sometimes muse at the fact that most lawyers thrive on human shortcomings, called upon when something goes terribly wrong or to keep something from going terribly wrong. We law students spend hours at study, burdened by cases involving what must have been the worst part of someone’s life.

Yet, it’s the desire to be brought in when things go bad that makes an attorney so important. And learning about how to be a good attorney is the most exciting part of law school. Once you realize that the names in a caption represent real people (or entities) you get that first real taste of the career to come. In law school, you get to be reminded of this fact without the business of being a lawyer getting in the way. Plus, you don’t have to work 80 hours a week.

I’m sorry if this entry sounds corny or sentimental. But, sometimes I get so burdened with the business of law (see my previous post), the metaphysical aspects of the profession fade away.

I’ll probably change my tune when I start getting worked to death…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Carol permalink
    June 14, 2008 4:36 pm

    Hi! I found this interesting. I’m applying for law school in a few months and I am scared out of my mind. Since this was posted last year, would you mind posting an update to see how things are going? I am still too intimidated to start actually planning things out.

  2. July 7, 2010 3:55 am

    Love the solid pro argument in favor of going to law school. Quoted it in Debatepedia’s pro/con article on the subject of whether to go to law school:

    http://debatepedia.idebate.org/en/index.php/Debate:_Law_school

  3. July 15, 2010 8:58 am

    I’m applying for law school in a few months and I am scared out of my mind. Since this was posted last year, would you mind posting an update to see how things are going? I am still too intimidated to start actually planning things out.
    thanks
    killing games

  4. Andrew permalink
    August 25, 2010 7:39 pm

    Hi – I’m a law professor. I enjoyed your post and am interested in reprinting part of it (with attribution, of course) in a book I’m writing about law school for West, provided I can get your permission. If you get this, please contact me at lawhaha@hotmail.com.

  5. August 4, 2013 12:21 am

    magnificent points altogether, you just received a emblem new reader.
    What would you recommend in regards to your submit that you made a few days ago?
    Any certain?

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 51 other followers

