Skip to content

Job vs Career (or What I Want to Be When I Grow Up)

August 17, 2007

We have all heard someone say– “Oh, this is just a job–it’s not my career.”

 So what is the difference between a “job” and a “career”?

According to Webster’s, a “job” is:

“A regular activity performed in exchange for payment; a position in which one is employed; a task that must be done.”

Alternatively, the definition of “career” is:

“A chosen pursuit, a profession or occupation; the general course or progression of one’s working life; A path or course, as of the sun through the heavens.”

Doesn’t the word “career” sound much more exciting and fulfilling than the word “job”?  Come on…a path or course as of the sun through the heavens….versus…a task that must be done?  I don’t know about you, but I hate to imagine myself chained to a Kafka-esque desk, forever laboring over some task that must be done for the rest of my days.

Is the idea of career a myth?  Is it possible to find a job that embodies the concept of career? 

I had no CLUE what I wanted to do right out of law school.  I didn’t even know that there was a difference between transactional type jobs and litigation jobs.  I landed in a firm doing commercial litigation.  Phew!  I got a job–that was the first and highly important step in my career.  And then I got another job–and then I got another job. 

And then what? 

Tell you the truth–I don’t have an answer.  I am beginning to understand which direction I’d like to go in.  My nascent understanding comes from two sources:  One–it comes from my experience–my skills set, my hands on job training.  And two, it comes from my interactions with other attorneys and business people in the community–I talk to people who have careers.  Especially people who have careers in the areas I am interested in.  

So don’t be worried if you don’t know the answer to the question–”what do you want to be when you grow up.” No one does.

Every job you take is crucial to the development of your career.  Until that day your job blossoms into the love of your life–your career…I think it behooves us to treat every job as the ONE.   Love the one you are with, as the old adage goes. 

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Alice permalink
    July 22, 2008 12:45 pm

    If you want to get a job, first step is to make a strong resume and you must to place at many companies – for the best result in many cases it is good to know that you should go yourself and place the resumes.
    If you want to make a career:expect discomfort, keep learning, find the passion in every job, don’ let discomfort extinguish it, and stoke your passion with learning. You’ll be making a sound investment in your career.
    I hope this makes sense!

  2. October 31, 2009 8:44 am

    I want to get a job first but do,nt get job what i can do.can you help me to get job.I am completed BBA from USA.

  3. Kennedy permalink
    January 7, 2010 4:14 pm

    I Wanna Be A Therapist :D !

  4. Kennedy permalink
    January 7, 2010 4:16 pm

    In ISS ! :-/

  5. billy permalink
    January 7, 2010 6:55 pm

    god in mrs.berebitchskys class lol nickname

  6. lola permalink
    January 7, 2010 6:56 pm

    this class is so boring. ;(

  7. billy permalink
    January 7, 2010 6:57 pm

    hmmm is lola in mrs berebitskys class??

  8. boba permalink
    January 7, 2010 6:58 pm

    mrs.berbiskyn is so boring

  9. billy permalink
    January 7, 2010 6:58 pm

    lol u mispelled it

  10. →K-Hamp :)) ! permalink
    January 8, 2010 4:21 pm

    Ms.Berbensky Classs Is Lame :/ && I Got ISS !

  11. July 15, 2010 9:34 am

    god in mrs.berebitchskys class lol nickname
    thanks
    killing games

  12. January 1, 2011 3:01 pm

    LOL. mrs.berebitchskys, you couldnt ask for a better name.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 48 other followers

